In general, people are living longer now. Discuss the causes of this phenomenon. Use specific rea sons and details to develop your essay.

I extremely agree with the statement that people are living longer now than any time in history, because various collected data recently indicate people are, on average, live up to 54 years around the world.It is the highest point of human lifetime at the different stages of history while endowment insurance has became a serious problem globally,within the great development and improvement in scientific and technological knowledge. As a result,several key factors that used to impact people’s living in history, such as diseases,starvation, are under the control of human wisdom.

Firstly, since 18th century, Industriazation of agriculture has profoundly increased food supplying that is beneficial for people’s lives. People are living longer only the condition of plenty nutrition from food production in order to maintain body’s functional structure. In contrary, According to the critical theory of medical anthropology, undernutrition is one of main factor to short people’s lifetime in some poor areas now. For example, many Africans are suffering from poverty economically.

In addition, biomedical technology has contributed to the treatment and prevention of various diseases especially infectious diseases which have devastating consequence on people’s life. Even though each society has their own healing system,but biomedicine greatly prolong people’s lifetime with deep understanding of disease mechanism and effective medicines. Disease prevention is also an obligation of biomedicine which is beneficial for maintaining health. For instance, the discovery of antibiotic saved and expanded many people’s life.

Finally, exploration in scientific technology has brought many advantages on people’s livelihood , meanwhile, man-made disasters like large-scale wars and environmental pollution was taking away many lives. Especially, a certain extent, health and illness as a result of lifestyle, all people are consuming various food consist of chemical ingredients that is high in sugar and fat and calories,in modern society. However, advanced technology is confronting such problems.

In conclusion, with the tremendous changes of new era, social and ecological problems have a tremendous consequence on people’s life, but people are living longer now with the great achievement of scientific technology.