In general, people are living longer now. why?

Living longer is indicator of development in every country. People believe that human live longer nowadays. In my opinion, people live longer because of technology development and eating variety of food.

Firstly, technology improves healthcare and diagnostic approaches. For instance, my mother is 67 years old, although she was a nurse and she is retired now, she do not go to a doctor for check up. She felt pain in her chest for one month and she could not go up stairs because get out of breath. After she went to the doctor, we found out that one of her heart valve had malfunction. The doctor did echocardiography to diagnose the severity of the disease. After one month my mother had a heavy operation on her heart. If doctors did not diagnosis my mother's heart disease faster or did not do surgery on her heart, She will be dead now. 6 months pasted from my mother's operation. she can sleep at night now. 10 years ago, my mother had another severe disease, her doctor diagnosis her disease in 10 days and he did an operation on her immediately, She could died because of that severe disease. Fortunately, she lived 10 years after operation. But in the past, my grandmother had the same disease, the doctors could not recognize the cause of her pain and she passed away in one week.

Secondly, healthy food are more reachable than before. in every grocery store there is many fruits from different seasons and meat are available in refrigerators. For example, When I was a child about 6 years old, I remember I like eating banana. My father bought me banana only few times every year. In summer we had to eat only certain type of fruit that grow in that season. I did not like most of them. But now we have orange in summer and watermelon in winter. We can store chicken and meat for months in frig. variety of food we eat increases and we eat healthier food.

In conclusion, technology helps doctors to diagnosis disease faster and variety of food we eat help us to live longer.