In general, people are living longer now. Which of the following do you think accounts for this phenomenon?

Technological improvements

Changes to education systems

Improvements to our diets

Use specific details and examples in your answer. You may choose more than one cause.

What is the reason behind the longer life expectancy of human beings across the globe? In my opinion, credit for this goes to advancements in technology. Technological improvements over time allowed scientists to research and identify cures for various diseases that were once believed to be fatal. I will elaborate on my claim in the following essay.

To begin with, humans are not the only living organisms on the planet Earth. There are a lot of animals and micro-organisms such as bacteria and viruses that are mainly responsible for diseases. With the improvements in biotechnology and medicine, researchers could find the antidotes for many of the common illnesses. For instance, Polio, Tuberculosis, Cholera, etc. are some of the common diseases considered to be fatal just a couple of decades ago. Technology helped us not only heal a person from these life-threatening diseases, but it also added to our knowledge of some of the impending health issues and find vaccinations for the same. Recent events of the worldwide spread of Covid-19 are a compelling illustration of this. It is only with the years of research and continuous efforts of our scientists that we were able to produce vaccinations so fast and save the world and the human race. Also, modern equipment and machines used for various treatments and testing are only byproducts of technological advancements.

Secondly, with the advent of mass media platforms such as television and social networking sites, it is pretty easy for anyone to find sessions tutoring on Yoga and exercises. It is scientifically proven that these kinds of physical activities have a great impact on adding a few years to a person's life. My own grandfather is a really good example of this. Just a few years back, he used to have a lot of back issues and joint problems. However, since the time he started doing Yoga every morning through a show he watches on television, it helped him to relieve his health issues significantly. The point is that mass media platforms that are a boon of technology have helped us to reach a global scale with such kinds of health awareness programs.

Some may argue that an improved diet may be a more compelling reason for longer life. However, if we really think about it, is it really the case that our diet has improved? With the increased use of pesticides and artificial fertilizers to grow crops, and fast food getting more and more popular day by day, a healthy diet is definitely not something that we are getting nowadays.

To sum up, it is the technological improvements in various fields like biology, medicine, media, etc. that helped improve human life expectancy. One needs to look no further than improved medicines, vaccinations, treatments, hospitalization facilities, and global reach of health awareness campaigns to evaluate the importance of technology in improving life expectancy for humans.