Getting advice from friends who are older than you is more valuable than getting advice from friends your age.

People often ask for advice because we may feel unconfident about ourselves or struggling to make a big decision. However, people possess different perspectives on how to get valuable advice, whether from older friends or younger friends. As for me, I consider getting advice from older friends more valuable than getting advice from friends my age.

First of all, life experience affects the quality of advice, and older people can have more life experience than youngsters do. The elders live longer, so they have more experience than the youth do. For instance, I had trouble selecting my major between Mechatronics Engineering and Electrical Engineering before I enter university, I ask my dad’s friend for help. He recommended me not to be anxious because I can switch my major when I choose my graduate school. He told me to find my interest during my four years in university and decide whether to switch my major or not when I pursue my master’s degree. Apparently, older people with more life experience can provide me with valuable advice.

Furthermore, a piece of valuable advice requires knowledge, and getting advice from the elders can provide me with their professional knowledge. For example, when I was a college student, our department will invite alumni or graduate students to give a lecture to first-year students to provide a piece of advice about how they handle their schoolwork. In addition, they will share their thoughts on which course should the student take if they want to pursue a specific field of study. Thankfully, I took the advice of one of the graduate students who study robotics. He told me that if I want to become a better robotics engineer, I should try to improve my coding skill. Thus, I enrolled in several programming courses such as Algorithm and Data Structure in the department of computer science to enhance my programming skill. Obviously, knowledge is a crucial factor when providing valuable advice, and the elders are often more knowledgeable than the youngsters are.

Moreover, valuable advice places emphasis on success, and getting advice from older people may lead me to success. The elders often have a broad social network. To take one example, my dad has a wide social network. He had listened to massive of successful stories from his friends and colleagues. Therefore, he knows how to provide valuable advice to succeed. On the contrary, if I ask my friend for advice, he may provide advice that fails. As a result, getting valuable advice from older people is more likely to succeed.

To sum up, getting advice from older people is more valuable because they have more life experience and knowledge. Also, they know which advice should give to become successful. As a result, I will choose to ask for valuable advice from older people rather than the young.