People should take time to relax with hobbies or physical activities that are very different from what they do at work.

People often hold different perspectives on whether they should take time to relax with hobbies or physical activities that are outside of their work. Personally speaking, I strongly argue that people should take activities different from their work.

To begin with, people are stressed, and taking time to relax with hobbies or physical activities can relieve their pressure. Take me as an example. During the workday, I have to finish the job, which my boss assigned me to do, as soon as possible. That is to say, I have to work hard every single day. Therefore, on weekends, I like to play basketball with my friends to help me get rid of my daily working stress. On the other hand, if I work all day without attending activities outside my work, I will not get proper rest during the night because I am still worried about my work. Furthermore, I will feel anxious every day.

Secondly, people place emphasis on happiness and relaxing with hobbies or physical activities can make them happy. Take my colleague John for instance. John likes to go hiking in his leisure time. He really enjoys the time he spent in nature. Moreover, he is fond of taking beautiful scenery photos while he is in the mountains. John always has his smile on his face when he shares his hiking experience and the fabulous photographs with me. On the contrary, John seldom smiles when he works, he works because he has to earn himself for a living.

Last but not least, people care about their job efficiency, and taking time to relax can increase their job efficiency. As an old Chinese saying goes, “To walk a further distance, people have to rest.” Every single person has limited energy. Therefore, people cannot maintain their job efficiency at a high level all day long. However, people can regain their energy by participating in activities such as jogging around the park or go to the gym for weight lifting. Conversely, if people do not spend time relaxing, they will find out that they cannot concentrate at work and start to make silly mistakes, even worse they will fall asleep while working.

To sum up, I strongly agree that people should relax with hobbies or physical activities that are different from their work. After all, attending events outside of people’s work can relieve their pressure, make them happy, and increase their job efficiency.