Grades (marks) encourage students to learn.

Throughout the history students’ learning have always been important. To make the best outcome possible, the education system has used different evaluating systems. Each system has its pros and cons. Amongst them the grading systems seems to have better outcome. Some people think the grading system can have positive influence in students’ learning, while others think the otherwise. I am of the opinion that this system is a great motivation for students to learn better. To support this, there are several reasons, two of which are going to be aptly explored in the following.

First, majority of students have the feeling to be an outstanding student amongst others. Furthermore, they can be praised by others when they get a good grade on a course. Especially their teachers and parents. So, in order to feel this kind of acclaim, they should earn a high grade, which requires them to try and study harder. Therefore, it results in a better learning. While when there is no system of grading, students do not have an environment where they can show their abilities and they lose their motive to study and learn better. According to statistics in Iran, since the grading system has been used, the students’ learning outcome has been improved.

Finally, most of the students have a competitive spirit. Accordingly, grading system can use this as another motive to encourage them to study and learn better in order to compete with other students. So, if a student wants to compete with its classmates, she/he needs to boost her/his grades, which leads to have a positive effect on learning process. On the other hand, other evaluating systems do not encourage students as the grading system does. For example, as a teenager, when I was studying in high school, I always have sought to get the best grade possible, which leaded to better learning and in turn, I could get accepted to the best university in my town.

All in all, the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that the grading system can make the students to learn better. This is due to the fact that this system act as a motive for most student to get the applause of others so they try harder to get better grades which leads to better learning. It also can be a motivation to competitive students who want better results and learning.