How do movies or television influence people’s behavior?

Nowadays, most people watch television more than 20 hours per week. People are more interested in watching movie rather than reading book or going to gym. If they were aware about disadvantages of television, they would sell it and spend their time on something worth. Most movies induce us that we are not good enough and make us feel unpleasant about ourselves and our lives. Advertisements force us to buy goods we do not need unconsciously. On the other hand, watching movies influences our health mentally and physically so it is more dangerous for children and young adults who spend most of their time on it.

First of all, watching movies do not allow us to participate in valuable activities. We waste our time and energy to watch some meaningless serials while we have to finish our homework or study new article or hiking. For example, when I was at high school, I always was the top student and my scores were excellent. I used to finish my assignments every day after school and study well for next classes. One month my parents went to Mecca and I lived with my aunt. She watched television every evening and encouraged me to accompany her. When my parents returned, my grades were significantly less than usual and my teacher asked my parents the reason. This experience taught me movies and serials are just for entertainment and we have to spend our main time on our tasks.

Moreover, movies are not based on real lives and instill us that we are not beautiful enough or our house is not comfortable. Directors build movies with beautiful actors and actresses in a lot of poetry scenes. For instance, “Harry Potter” is one of the most interesting movies for children and the first character is a boy who knows magic. When children watch it, they wish that they could be like him and they regret about it. They buy every toy seen in this movie or advertisements related to this movie to feel they are Harry Potter. So, movies estrange us from real life and make us feel incapable.

Furthermore, watching television is not good for our mental and physical health. When we sit constantly two hours without activity in front of television and eat popcorn instead of hiking or talking with our friends, we are more prone to diabetes, heart strokes and depression. A study in Harvard University shows that people who watch movies more than one hour every day are more susceptible to depression and high blood pressure due to low activity and eating foods which contains high calories. Also they cannot concentrate on intellectual activities compared to control group, watching movies less than one hour every day, because they cannot pay attention very well. Therefore, increasing mental and physical diseases is another effect of movies.

To sum up, not only do not movies have advantages but they also cause a lot of negative effects which can destroy our lives. If we watch television a lot, we are more vulnerable to some kinds of diseases, we feel that we are incompetent and we have no time for precious activities. I suggest that replace watching movies in your schedule with going to gym.