If you want to recommend a way to reduce living expenses for your friend, which of the following will you choose? Why?

Find a roommate to share a room

Do not buy the latest mobile phone, Buy new technological devices less Frequently

Buy cheap foods and cook home (do not often eat outside)

It goes without saying that in this modern world, most people are struggling with an excessive amount of living expenses. In this regard, while some people suggest decreasing these expenses by reducing convenience such as the latest mobile phone or so on, others stand on the other hand, stating that sharing expenses could be a practical approach. I am content with the latter idea and two of my reasons are going to be aptly explored in the following.

First and foremost, since most of the money that we earn, will spend on our housing expenses including bills, rental fees, and so forth, it is more sensible to find a roommate in order to share our expenditures with each other. For example, there is one refrigerator in a house, no matter how many people use this one, the use of electricity for this cooling system is a specific amount. Hence, with a roommate, not only the payment for electricity bills but also all expenditures related to the house can be divided.

Secondly, having a roommate could be in favour of cooking at home rather than going to restaurants. It is undeniable that working outside and inside a home is too time-consuming. As a result, the majority of people prefer to eat outside in order to reduce the burden of their physical tasks, however, it will raise their expenses. The merits of living with other people is that roommates can share their house chores. It gives each person the opportunity to cook every two days instead of every day which is more convenient for busy individuals.

In the end, due to the aforementioned arguments explored in the previous paragraphs, I am of the opinion that living with a roommate reduces people’s expenditures as they share it. In addition, sharing house chores is the other advantage of living with a roommate.