Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect. In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do? 1. Interrupt and correct the mistake right away; 2. Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leader; 3. Say nothing.

In a situation where the teacher or meeting leader presents an erroneous idea, what should one do? Those who dignifies those in charge very much may choose to talk to the teacher or leader afterwards or even stay quiet the whole time, for pointing out that the teacher or leader was wrong poses a potential disrespect. However, choosing not to act immediately to correct the error will greatly reduce the learning experience for the audience and make the class or discussion generally less interactive. Weighing the two sides, I hold the opinion that incorrect statements in a classroom or a meeting should be corrected right away.

It is true that correcting a teacher or meeting leader could be interpreted as disrespectful. This was the case years ago in many Asian countries. In ancient China, teachers were well respected figures whose words are not to be challenged. Even today, many Chinese students are still used to ignore mistakes teachers make in class and only tell the teacher about the mistakes afterwards or not at all. While doing so does retain the teacher's dignity and authority, it is done at the expense of the learning quality of those students who may not have identified the mistake. Some people may take all of the teacher's words for granted without a doubt, not knowing that they have acquired some erroneous knowledge.

On the other hand, immediately pointing out a mistake in lectures or meetings greatly enhances learning experience. Consider a math class in which the professor makes mistake early on in inducing a formula. If the mistake is not pointed out, the lecturer may not find out until much later. When that happens, the professor will have to repeat the entire induction again, which wastes a lot of valuable time. If the mistake were pointed out in the very beginning, this could be avoided.

Furthermore, pointing out the mistakes in a classroom or meeting makes the setting more interactive. People generally dislike monologues. Therefore, by pointing out the mistake of those leading the discussion may be quite beneficial. Instead of being offended, the leader or teacher may actually feel delighted because the audience is actually participating.