Imagine you are an undergraduate student, for your final semester what would you prefer?

1. Conducting an intensive research and writing a paper on the topic.

2. Internship

Universities are considered as one of the most decisive factors for developments of a given society. Due to their paramount importance, efforts for elevating their effectiveness have been always amongst governments’ top priorities. In addition, undergraduate studies, as the first stage of the higher level education, play a crucial role in students’ education. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this issue is whether conducting an intensive research project is more beneficial to the students or becoming an intern at a well-known company. Some people are inclined towards the idea that the former is more promising in terms of students’ development of research skills, whereas others hold the exact opposite view. I, despite the general consensus, contend that a decent internship can vastly provide invaluable experience for an individual. In what follows, I will aptly elucidate my viewpoint.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that internship at a company would highly improve one’s versatility. Prior to doing an internship, students are often involved in their time-consuming studies and researches. However, being an intern provides exceptional opportunities for one’s growth. In addition, by entering a professional work place, students learn about the great deal of responsibilities that everyone in an office has to accept. Thus, experiencing the difficulties of such places, they would gain an invaluable insight to their future job.

Another equally significant point to be mentioned is that by working as an intern at a company, students can greatly improve and practice their social skills. Not only are the students relatively unexperienced in professional fields, but also they are unfamiliar with formal relationships within a company. The results of a recent study conducted in my country indicates that students who have done internship during their undergraduate studies have outperformed others who have emphasized research projects during the same period of time.

Finally, it is an undisputable fact that the experience gained from the internship can directly affect one’s chances at getting his favorable vocation. With the global economic crisis, getting a proper job seems implausible. Graduate students generally are unemployed, let alone do their dream jobs. Take a personal experience as an example; although I knew about its importance during my undergraduate studies, I did not pay heed to internship. As a result, I had an extreme difficulty getting a job upon my graduation. Had I done an internship in an international company, I would have had a wide variety of choices for my employment.

In brief, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes that internships are much more beneficial to students’ future rather than intensive and cutting-edge research projects which their practicalities are in doubt. Consequently, it is highly recommended that universities put more emphasis on internship consolidating the relation between academy and industry.