Imagine you need to improve your performance in order to get better grades or higher work payment which way would you choose?

1.doing more extra work or assignments that are required

2.participate more actively or contributing your own idea more frequently in the group discussion

Nowadays, with the increasingly fierce social competition both on campus and at work, a bunch of individuals tend to improve their performance for the sake of pursuing better grades or salaries. However, different people choose divergent approaches to achieve this goal. Some people choose to participate more actively or contribute their novel ideas more frequently in the group discussion. Whereas, personally speaking, I prefer to do extra work or assignments that are required and there are a couple of reasons accounting for my opinion.

Initially, doing extra work or assignments enables me to have a deep understanding of the knowledge. To be more specific, when I am required to fulfilling extra assignments, it indicates that the assignments required by the professors are conducive to boost my knowledge and deepen my insight of what the professors have taught in the class. For instance, a research conducted to evaluate the effect of finishing extra task assigned by the professors demonstrates that the group of students who accomplish the extra reading tasks get higher grades in the final test and what they master during the process of finishing extra tasks have stuck in their brain, which not only broaden their knowledge and vision but also enable them to utilize the knowledge in the exams skillfully/be proficient in utilize the knowledge in the final tests. Conversely, the group of students without efforts devoted in extra assignments seem average in the academic performance/perform poorly in the final tests. The example indicates that the fulfillment of extra assignments is capable of facilitating our academic performances.

What’s more, doing the extra assignment is also beneficial in other fields, like strengthen my memory of knowledge taught by the professor during the lecture. What the professors speak in the class is sometimes too difficult or too overloaded to memorize, by undergoing the extra assignments, the understanding/comprehension of the information imparted by the professors can be enhanced. During the process of understanding the principals of the knowledge, I can not only master what has been taught in the lectures but also review the contents, which enable me to memorize the knowledge in essence instead of cramming to pass the final tests/getting a passing score in the final test, which apparently can improve my grades.

Admittedly, taking an active part in the group discussion can also enhance my grades by leaving/making the professors a terrific impression, nevertheless, this approach does not reinforce my master of required knowledge and I cannot take an active part in the group discussion or deliver any novel ideas without making efforts to finish the extra tasks. Although it is time-consuming and tedious to finish the extra assignments, it does enhance my grades since I not only have a grasp of more knowledge but also reinforce my memorization of specific information.

In a nutshell, finishing assignments asked by the professors is a terrific method of improving my grades, because it improves my master of knowledge in essence instead of pretending to take an active part in learning or cooperation between group members.