INDEPENDENT WRITING TASK

Question: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Leadership comes naturally: one cannot learn to be a leader. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Leadership is an attribute that results in the emergence of great nations. Some people are born leaders while some people think they can learn this attribute by learning. I personally believe that leadership comes naturally because it passes on from generation to generation, and some people fail to acquire this characteristic.

To begin with, I think that leadership is present in the blood of some people. They adopt this attribute from their ancestors naturally. The world is full of that kind of examples where nations got successful with the efforts of their leaders. Moreover, those leaders belonged to the families who had this talent. My country is a compelling example of this. There was a time when my country flourished in every field. The development and prosperity were the blessings of our leaders who possess the natural ability of leading their nation. After a few years, people selected leaders who were inexperienced and no one in their family had the capability of leadership. Those leaders tried to lead the country but failed to run the country because of the lack of leadership qualities. This results my country to be ranked among the poorly developed and unpeaceful countries.

What’s more, some people try to learn this ability, and want to become good leaders. They try their best but still face difficulties in leading others. For instance, when I was in college, our teacher appointed the topper of our class as our leader. His job was to guide us in every matter and helped us in any hard task. He tried a lot but unfortunately he did prove himself as a good leader. Rather than another student with ordinary grades was very good in leadership. He had the natural capability to control the class and take care of all matters. Later on, our professor switched him as the leader of the class.

.In conclusion, I firmly believe that leadership is an attribute that comes naturally; no one can force himself to become a good leader. Most of the countries have good leaders because they are born with this natural attribute to lead their nations.