In general, people are living longer now. Which of the following do you think accounts for this phenomenon?

Technological improvements

Changes to education systems

Improvements to our diets

Use specific details and examples in your answer.

Overall, it is definitely a fact that people are living longer and longer lives; in fact, the average American now lives to be 82 years old. However, what is the cause of this phenomenon? In my view, there is no doubt that this is caused by improvements in the quality and quantity of our food. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, food is now enriched with a lot of vitamins which are able to prevent many diseases and health issues. Most of the food on the shelves at the grocery store have been enriched with vitamins that contribute to overall health and longevity. For instance, a new type of rice was developed called Golden Rice. This particular rice is a strain that is fortified with Vitamin A, and that helps to prevent blindness in toddlers and children and contributes to healthy vision. In addition, when a parent purchases orange juice, it often has calcium added to it which helps bones grow stronger and denser. It also has Vitamin C, that helps to boost the immune system, prevent the flu, and shorten the duration of the common cold. In the past, food was not enhanced in any way and therefore this caused a lot of deficiencies of crucial vitamins and minerals. The fact that our food quality has improved by leaps and bounds has no doubt contributed to our longer lifespans.

What’s more, food handling and safety has prevented a variety of illnesses and diseases which were once very prevalent in society, because how disease spread was misunderstood. A long time ago, it was not understood that heat killed bacteria. It was the famous work of the microbiologist Louis Pasteur who introduced this idea to the public. Pasteur had done a study to try to figure out how bacteria spread so rapidly in milk, which was causing a lot of deaths at the time. Through his research, he demonstrated that subjecting wine, beer, and milk to high heat for a short time killed the bacteria that caused it to sour and become unsafe to drink. This process, now called Pasteurization, is used on every farm in the United States and the numbers of people who pass away due to drinking unsafe milk has dropped steeply. This example illustrates the fact that through scientific discovery, food is safer now and this is one significant reason that we live much longer lives.

In conclusion, although there are certainly other factors that may be considered, I believe that the quality of food has improved so much that we are now living much longer lives. In my view, this reason stands head and shoulders above any other consideration.