It is better to have a broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject

The world changes every minute of the day. It is fine to keep up with the news and the trends of the day or the moment., but it is imperative to be an expert in your field of work.

First, 2000 years ago Aristoteles was considered the father of philosophy because he was able to master all the natural sciences of that time. But nowadays, content knowledge, like science, political analysis, physics, etc, requires a person being an expert on the field. Otherwise, you will not be able to find a decent position in your desired job field. Furthermore, if you are not that person, the company will not be able to be on top of its competition.

Second, let’s think for a minute, not about the high up ranking jobs in science, physics, or political analysis like I suggested above. What about low-level jobs, like a school teacher. Every single application for a middle school teaching position requires the applicant to have a master’s degree in the subject to be taught. Moreover, the applicant is also required to have a minimum or certain amount of professional development per cycle in order to be considered a decent candidate.

Lastly, schools are pursuing this kind of expertise with their students. For example, in math and language arts, students are being evaluated since early a 3rd grade with standardized tests to see what abilities these young people are better suited for. For instance, if a student keeps having high grades in math in 3rd and 5th grade, he will be recommended to take the higher math classes in middle school. In addition, this six-grade student could be taking math classes with advanced math in eighth grade. My point, students from an early age are being profiled to search a subject that they can master in order to become experts in a field of work where they could make a difference.

To summarize, I do believe that the world requires professionals that are experts in their field of work.