It is better to use printed material such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the Internet. Do you agree?

It is critically important for students to use the best available resources when they conduct research. In my opinion, it is far better to use printed materials than online sources. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, printed materials such as books and articles are more reliable than websites. This is because websites can be edited by anyone in the world, regardless of whether or not they are qualified academics. As a result of this, even articles in popular online encyclopedias often contain incorrect and biased information. My own experience demonstrates in a freshman history class. I cited data that I found on Wikipedia which later turned out to be completely incorrect. This data grade in the class at the end of the semester. If I had taken the time to compare what I had read online to a book or a scholarly article I would not have included it, and would not have received such a terrible score in the class.

Secondly, books are superior to online articles because they cover topics in much detail. Textbooks are significantly longer than online articles, so they are more useful to students. Students who use them when doing project can also look at detailed indexes which they include to focus on very specific topic. For example. When I wrote an essay lase semester in a history class, the very first book that I consulted contained a long description of the both the underlying causes and long-term effects of the historical event I was writing about. In contrast, most of the online articles that I consulted little more than superficial facts and dates. I based my research on the book rather than articles, so I was able to write a very insightful essay.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that printed information is more useful than online resources. This is because books and printed journals are less likely to be biased or contain errors, and because books provide a superior level of detail.