It is important to know about events happening around the world even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life

At present, people can have access to the information easily and diversely through a variety of ways. In contrast to those who only care things about themselves, some others tend to learn the information occurring worldwide. For example, those who are interested in political news in the U.S tend to care the elections and political situation over there despite the fact that it has nothing to do with them. On the other hand, however, people who are only concerned about themselves tend to focus on things such as the price of the daily necessities, infrastructures in their own neighrbours, etc. In my opinion, I believe that it is important to know about the events happening in the world, which I'll elaborate in the following paragraphs.

First of all, as a member of the global society, we can learn a lesson from what happened to others. For example, an old lady who misbelieved a scammer calling for ransom to her grandchild, who, on the other side of the phone, crying for help, paid the money to the scammer, yet it turned out to be a fraud, causing her loss of 500 thousand dollars. From the story, even though we didn't know the woman, nor did it actually affect our life, it actually helped us to be aware of what we've been taking for granted.

Secondly, on the other hand, we can as well be an example to others, teaching something they don't know to them. Take the 921 Earthquake which occurred at midnight of September 21st, 1999 for example. The earthquake struck so severely that many people died and homes collapsed, but the government took action to rescue the victims immediately, and so did the international rescue team. It was also because of this event that people who live in the earthquake zone are able to know how to make precautions from the natural disasters.

To sum up, it is true that getting to know the news happening in the world doesn't really affect us immediately, and that we are too trivial to affect the world simply by knowing the events happening; however, chances are that we may be able to apply the experiences from others to our own situation when encountering the similar problem. So, once again, I do agree that it is important to know the events happening in the world.