It is important to read or watch the news presented by people whose views are similar to your own or read or watch the news presented by those whose views are different from your own.

We have to make decisions every day. And most of them are quick decisions, whether it is as small as placing a coffee order or as big as deciding which apartment to hire. The leaders, too, are forced to make decisions now and then. Some people even assert that the quick decision making of leaders is one of the characteristics of a great leader. I fully agree with this idea for a few reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

Firstly, quick decisions are indispensable parts of a successful business. Modern business leader have to make numerous decisions every day such as whether to reply a Email or not, recruit a applicant or not, etc. A fast decision-maker can really enhance the efficiency of the whole team, while ponderous leaders always have sluggish teams. For example, one of my former team leader are very efficient. We were working in a telecommunication company and we design equipment for internet service providers. One day before a major holiday, a Mexican customer submitted a bug report. My leader had two choices: to deal with it immediately or deal with after the holiday. He did some research on the problem and decided to ask two members of our group to solve it immediately. The decision turned out to be perfect. If we hadn’t solved the problem that day, it would have been a major problem in the coming days.

Secondly, leaders who can make decisions quickly can stimulate other team members. Leaders are always role models of teams. Their ways of dealing with works are revered and copied by the whole team. A recent research done by a group of psychologists has proved that this is true. The researchers studied 10 teams that just changed leaders in different business sectors of a big company and their efficiency before the leader change. After 6 months of study, they found that team members under a faster decision-making leader worked more efficiently than before while those who have a slower leader dropped their efficiency. The researcher studied the reasons behind this change and concluded that team members are more invigorated under the leadership of fast decision-makers.

Thirdly, they are likely to have more expertise in their working field. If a leader can make decisions quickly, then they tend to have more experience in their works. In contrast, sluggish leaders are always newbies or the ones who don’t devote much to their works. There is another example of my former leader. Before he assumed that position, he has been in that team for five years and he knew every details of our products. After he quit his job, we really had a bad time. The new leader was not conversant enough with our products and he was indecisive not because of his personality but his unfamiliar with his work. That was a disaster and our efficiency dropped tremendously.

In conclusion, fast decision-making is one of the most precious qualities of a great leader. These leaders are devoted to their works, serve as role models and are indispensable parts of a successful business. Actually, it has always been a mystery to me why there are many people who have an opposite idea.