Do you agree or disagree with the statement:

University students should be required to take basic science classes even if they are not part of the field of the study.

Nowadays, due to fierce competition in society, university attach greater importance to adopting measures to provide students with high-quality of education. Some people claim that students are unnecessary to take classes that they are not part of the field of study. However, my view is that it is preferable for students to take classes about other fields. Such as basic science classes, it is necessary for students to add these courses to their schedules.

To begin with, we must be prioritized is that basic science classes exert a positive influence on students’ study. For one thing, it is taking basic science classes that can obtain more academic knowledge. To be more specific, students can have access to scientific theories and experimental methods, learning a lot of background knowledge about famous scientists, so as to broaden the horizon and acquire more knowledge. For another, it is taking basic science classes that can motivate students’ interests in study. To explain further, students can learn plenty of interesting scientific phenomenon and explore the scientific principle behind them, so as to stimulate students’ interests in exploring unknown world. Is science and technology really that important? For instance, “We need as many people as possible to have access to technology, because these advances are triggering a revolution in what human beings can do for one another. They are marketing it possible not just for national governments, but for universities, corporations, smaller organizations, and even individuals to see problems, see approaches, and measure the impact of their efforts to address the hunger, poverty, and desperation George Marshall spoke of 60 years ago.” Bill Gates said in a speech.

In addition, what is equally worthy is discussing is that basic science courses are conducive to cultivating students’ ability. Initially, never should we ignored that it can increase students’ interpersonal skills in their daily life. In particular, professors often arrange group projects to students, only through group cooperation can students finish their group projects with high quality on time. During this process, cultivating students’ ability of communicating with others and express themselves. Moreover, taking basic science classes can also enhance students’ ability of time management. In detail, the more courses they take, the more time management tasks they should do. In this case, students need to better arrange their own time so that they will learn more efficiently, and it can lay a solid foundation for their future career.

Finally, it is true that taking too many classes will increase students’ burden, however, if we look at the issue form a different prospective, we will find that it is beneficial for students in the long run. From what has been discussed above, we can draw the conclusion that it is more advisable for students to take science classes even though they are not major in scientific field.