It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only 3 days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work 5 days a week for shorter hours-TPO 30

Most of the people are of the view that having a three days job with prolonged working hours provides them with more free time. Others prefer to do job with five working days but short period of time. As far as I am concerned, having a job with five working days is far better for numerous ways. The ensuing essay will illustrates my standpoint.

To begin with, people who works for five days in a week are more productive and feel less stressed than who works for three days a week for longer period of time. If employees work for three days, they have to do the same amount of works as like as who works for five days in a week. A long tiring day comes in front of them and as the days go on, they feel stressed to finish their job. As a result, during the last hours of the working day, the chances of faults rises. Drawing from my own personal experience, three years ago I did similar kind of job where I preferred three working days cycle. I had to spent a lot of time sitting in a chair in front of a computer. At the last hours, I could not concentrate on my tasks. My head became jam-packed due to the work load. I had to wear glasses after couple of months because of this. Moreover, I had a severe back pain because of sitting for a long period of time. After six months, I changed my working schedule from three days cycle to five working days cycle.

On top of that, another obvious disadvantage of three days job is the synchronization with other companies or customers. Delivery of productions becomes problematic as the producer and the receiver of a product have fewer days to synchronize. The service provider gives pressure upon their employees to finish the job quickly. For instance, I can not think of better illustration of my cousin's own experience. He worked in a building design farm where at one stage, that farm decided to provide services on the first three working days to their customers. At first, all of the employees became happy but after few days they faced that their customers were trying to find other design farm though that farm were maintaining their quality. Then they arranged a survey and from that data a surprising thing came out. Most of the customers complained that they can not maintain schedule with that design farm as they started providing service only three days in a week.Then that design farm took decision to return on their previous five working days cycle.

Admittedly, three working days have some benefits . People get more free time to spend with their family. They can do some other productive jobs on their own if they want. However, it costs a lot on them as they have to work a lot in a single working day.

All in all, due to the above mentioned reasons, I reinforce my point that five days a week with shorter period is more preferable than three days a week but longer work time. It not only increases productivity of the employees and chances of faults decreases but also ensures healthy life.