It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only 3 days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work 5 days a week for shorter hours-TPO 30

Most people are of the view that having a three-day job with prolonged hours provides them with more free time. However, others prefer to work five days a week but shorter hours than the former group. As far as I am concerned, having a five-day job is far better in numerous ways. The ensuing essay will illustrate my standpoint.

First, a five-day job along with less time during the workday will result in more productive work because employees feel less tired. In this way, they can maintain their concentration on their occupation well. For example, in a recent nationwide survey, bosses who had both types of employees were questioned about which kind of work is more productive. About two-thirds of them answered that their employees did well, meaning that the number of faults they did significantly declined when they were asked to work five days instead of three days a week. Furthermore, they could cope with the difficulties in the job they confront in more creative ways, making it possible for their bosses to thrive in their businesses. This example shows that the fewer hours employees work, the more productive they become.

Another equally significant point is that this kind of job is less harmful to employees’ health which means that people have less work pressure each day, making them physically and mentally. For instance, five years ago, I worked for a company for just three days but with prolonged hours. Having spent a long period of time sitting on the chair and looking at the computer monitor, my eyes badly damaged and I had to wear glasses after that. Also, my back even hurt which caused me to undergo surgery. Moreover, working just three days, I realized that I could not deal with the heavy workload each day and as a result, I got stressed out, feeling a lot of mental pressure. After a while, I contracted mental diseases. Thus, had I not worked such long hours, I would have remained healthy.

To summarize, I believe that working five days a week with short hours rather than longer hours with three days is of more advantages for employees. This is because not only will the output of work rise but employees also can retain their healthy lifestyle. Therefore, I highly recommend that employers offer this kind of work for their staff.