It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

By and large, since the dawn of modern education, methods of teaching at schools always has been regarded with paramount importance. A trend from the history of education reveals that nowadays some new methods are used in schools rather than past times abolished methodologies. one of the methods of education which is controversial and debates about it was never subsided is teaching to students or making them to comprehend the ideas. there has been no shortage of debates among educational psychologists whether to teach the facts to the students or its importance pales in comparison to what comes from that of concepts and ideas. As for this writer’s opinion, I would subscribe to the conviction which points out that understanding the concepts and ideas can pave the road for students in their future careers. In the following paragraphs, I will substantiate my point of view with a couple of cogent reasons.

The first worthwhile point which persuaded me to opt for this opinion is that psychologists and the educational experts declare that understanding the concepts and ideas could be handy in flourishing innovation and ingenuity. To shed more light on this obscure point, if you do not understand the back stage of a problem, you cannot present a novel way to resolve the problem. Simply stating, the more you know about the concepts and ideas, the more creative methods you can exploit. As a case in point, I can recall my experience in an inter-universal competition as a research team member in my sophomore year in which we have won the novelty prize of the country. our project was about producing a method considering soil-structure interaction with much more simplicity than the present methods. we have had introduced a method by which engineers can design structures quickly and efficiently. Although that other competitors knew the rudimentary facts but our key to success was understanding the concept of the issue and exploiting it in our innovation.

The other equally striking point in corroborating my stance is that comprehending the concepts and ideas can give a hand to you in learning the facts. Generally speaking, it is the concepts that make you think about a particular fact. By way of illustration, consider a blur window which is toward a street and other buildings. you can hardly perceive what is on the other side of the window but you know that there is a stress and buildings with vague shape. The point that there is some buildings on the other side is a fact that you know, but watching the street and the building clears obscure points for you. Hence, comprehending concepts is typically like opening the window and looking at the street and the clear scene. In a similar vein, I always was one of the beneficiaries of comprehending the concepts. For instance, I occasionally go to classes, but I always try to learn the basic concepts of the subjects. For example, in one of the geologic materials, I went through the internet to find movies and pictures of the minerals and ore stones. I learned the names and the characteristics of the stones by watching them rather than studying books about their traits. Interestingly, I found that exemplifying the problems and perceiving the ideas would deepen your knowledge.

By perusing the reasons and explanations mentioned above, one can readily perceive that not only concepts have a paramount importance in learning the facts, but it is fruitful in giving a novel ideas. Therefore, I vehemently recommend to the teachers to work on concepts and ideas of subjects rather than spending time to teaching the some facts.