It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts

With the development of society and the economy, it is getting more and more effortless to access the Internet and search for a tremendous amount of information. A prevalent statement that we hear in recent years is that it is vital that students learn not only superficial facts but also the underlying concepts and ideas. A considerable number of opponents, however, argue that memorizing facts is also an important skill that will affect students' academic life. As far as I am concerned, my personal view is aligned more with the former, and I will develop two specific reasons in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, failing to understand the fundamentals and only memorizing facts for the sake of memorization can hinder students' learning eventually and they are more likely to face academic setbacks. Learning facts or factual events do not require students to think rationally or critically, and this activity does not help develop students' academic ability. This can lead to decreased or lost confidence when they engage in discussion or take exams that require their critical thinking skill. Another aftermath that could occur to them is that they have to relearn the basic concepts underlying so many facts and it will take an enormous amount of time to do it, which is time-consuming and not efficient as a learning experience. I have to admit that this opinion is profoundly influenced by my personal experience. When I entered elementary school, I memorized materials for the sake of acing every single exam at school without comprehending the more important core of materials. Therefore, I was enthusiastic and competent in terms of academics. However, I hit the rock bottom when I entered college and started to learn so many advanced concepts I could not apply any of my factual knowledge to. I was so frustrated when I realized that I did not have the essential way of thinking that is applicable across many subjects and even advanced materials in college. It was really challenging to learn the basic things once again in order to exercise my brain and understand the true ideas and facts.

Secondly, an ability to understand ideas can be applicable even to the business world and it is conceived as indispensable to be regarded as successful. Although so many learning experiences in education are considered as a waste when people enter the workforce, they are deeply associated with work and success if they have a skill of rational and critical thinking, such as skepticism or decision-making skill, or even time -management skill. For instance, my friend who had continued to do debate in a club for a long time aside from education is so successful and accomplished in society. The main reason is that he is adept in making a judgement, and also making a constructive argument. These skills stemmed from his own experience of engaging in debate. They are useful especially when it comes to business negotiation, and human communication, both of which are integral to conduct business in person. With knowing only facts, he said that he would have been able to acquire these skills, and he values the skill of viewing things from different perspectives, which come from truly and profoundly understanding concepts and apply the knowledge to the real world.

In conclusion, I would like to reiterate and reinforce my firm belief that it is strongly recommended to have a deep and solid understanding of ideas rather than just learning superfical and easily forgettable facts. It is because they would be less likely to confront the obstacles in academics eventually when they learn advanced concepts, and also because the fundamental rational thinking skill can be applied to the real world when it comes to working in the future.