It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than to simply learn a bunch of facts. Explain.

I am in complete agreement with the idea that it is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than to simply learn a bunch of facts. There are several reasons why I hold this opinion.

First of all, rote learning or remembering facts is no skill at all! In fact, in today's technologically advanced world, every fact is just one click away. You can simple get on the web in case you forget something. But you can't find originality on the internet, and that is where an accurate understanding of ideas and concepts comes in. If one wishes to find any actual use of this raw data, they need to have crystal clear concepts, which would help find real world applications of these facts. While cynics may think that learning facts helps you pass exams, the rapidly evolving educational curriculum would suggest otherwise. Students are no longer tested on their ability to memorise, but instead on their critical thinking skills and logical abilities. This also explains the rise of open-book tests, which have become very commonplace since the world switched to online classes.

Secondly, developing strong concepts and ideas is what gives rise to new inventions, or leads to the improvement of existing objects and ideas. Perhaps the most appropriate example would be from the software development sector. A quick internet search would give you all the facts you need, but this won't be of any use while tackling a malfunctioning bug in your code. What you would need is a clarity of concepts and a thorough understanding of the software. This is what helps in fixing errors, and developing everything from video games to diet control apps. Thus, ideas and thoughts encourage growth and development.

Thirdly, understanding concepts is what helps a student differentiate between their actual likes and dislikes. If you are simply memorising your textbooks, how would you ever know if you prefer maths or chemistry or history? Each subject becomes something to cram and put away, instead of an investment of time and resources. To enable a student to take active and informed decisions, it is imperative that they have an understanding of the ideas and concepts behind the topics they encounter in their curriculum.

In conclusion, I'd say that an understanding of ideas and facts is much more important than remembering facts, since it broadens the students' minds, helps them find real world applications of what they are studying, and can even be the stepping stone towards new inventions.