We learn our most valuable lessons in life from struggling with our limitations rather than from enjoying our successes.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

When you first start reading a famous person’s autobiography, you’ll notice how little they choose to talk about their achievements. For instance, take Michelle Obama’s ‘Becoming’, a book where she highlights all her struggles growing up, and how they helped shape her into the First Lady of the United States. Only a few pages of the novel talk about her glorious life at the White House; most of them painstakingly outline the problems that young black women face at different stages of their lives. The prompt suggests something similar by stating that the most valuable life-lessons are not picked up while thriving in our successes, but rather while struggling with our limitations. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the suggestion that our limitations and struggles are the birthing ground of our life’s morals, and would argue this for two main reasons.

First of all, hardship strengthens character because it takes away the comfort that we cling to so desperately. During times like these, when we are left to our own devices, some human beings choose to be scrupulous, even if it means making a hard choice. For example, Jeff Bejoz, now the richest man on Earth, started his retail store from the back of his garage. Had he not struggled and suffered early setbacks in his career, he would probably not be the successful businessman that he is today. The above example illustrates how the values, morals and lessons learnt during our harshest times become the guiding principles for our future successes. If one never goes through trying times, it is unlikely that they will develop the strength and character that it takes to be successful in life.

Furthermore, struggling with our limitations exposes us to newer possibilities that we may not have considered previously. While dealing with these issues, one may acquire new skills, start a new venture, or develop a community to help out others. For instance, women in STEM often enter their colleges by considering themselves to be at par with men, and expect the same opportunities as their male counterparts. Sadly, this isn’t what happens in most scenarios. However, being discriminated against and treated as intellectually inferior has pushed women to combine forces and work even harder against patriarchal standards. Recent studies have shown how the number of women succeeding in STEM professions has skyrocketed, and most of them owe this success to the fact that they refuse to be limited by archaic gender roles. This clearly indicates how important life lessons, such as the grit and determination required while taking up new roles, are imparted due to struggles that one might go through. It is highly unlikely that people born with a silver spoon in their mouth would ever go through these issues, and hence their successes would be nothing extraordinary or off-beat.

Of course, some may argue that enjoying our successes is the ultimate aim. However, it is not rest and pleasure that teaches us anything valuable, but rather the arduous journey that we have taken to get there. In conclusion, I would suggest that it is our struggles that shape us into better individuals, by strengthening our characters and making us explore possibilities that we may not have considered before.