it is necessary to be competitive to succeed in life

I disagree with the idea that it is necessary to be competitive to succeed in life. Sometimes life offers no alternative to competition, but there are better options most of the time. Competing against someone else usually requires too much energy Also, competition often leads to somebody's feelings getting hurt. I think cooperation is easier and nicer than competition.

First of all, I think that competing is usually a waste of energy Competition is about feeling superior to someone else, which usually involves spending more energy than the other person. Some time ago, a friend and I both bought a video game and started competing to see who could earn the highest score. To get higher scores, my friend and I spent increasing amounts of time and energy playing the game. Eventually, I had no energy left after playing and couldn't do anything else. I decided it wasn't worth it and refocused my energy on other activities.

I also dislike competition because at least one of the competitors always loses. Losing usually makes the loser feel sad or angry so I don't think situations should be approached competitively. A classmate and I once found ourselves tied for the top rank of a dass mid-semester. For the rest of the semester, we competed to overtake each other's rankings, and in the end she came in second. She felt as if her effort had been wasted and was pretty sad.

Cooperating is a much better alternative to competing. Everybody involved can spend less energy to achieve the same results, and cooperative behavior rarely leads to sadness or anger. One time, a friend and both wanted to participate in a writing competition. Rather than act competitively, we decided to cooperate with each other. We edited each other's stories and helped each other write. When his story did better than mine, I didn't feel bad, because I had helped him write it.

While some people might think it’s necessary to be competitive in order to succeed, I think that being competitive is not a great option.