It's a waste of money for Government to fund space travel or space exploration.Give specific examples and details to support your answer.

Nowadays, Space exploration and travel is of paramount importance for the advancement of science and scientific research. These researches and explorations in the past have led to some significant contributions which directly impacts life present on earth. Some erudite believe that space expedition and space exploration squanders public money but I contend that funding in the field of space technology is not a waste of money. In what follows, I will aptly substantiate my point.

In recent years, a lot has been explored and discovered in space like new planets, asteroids, comets, discovery of ice and water in other planets, etc. The discoveries of water and suitable atmosphere in other planets will have a great impact and benefit for future of humanity and life on Earth. Researches have shown that climatic changes on earth will impact future generations of life on earth and may lead to complete decimation of humanity. So, the best possible way to save humanity is by migrating to a planet with suitable atmosphere which can be made possible by continuous investment and funding by government.

Although, there are no frequent threats caused by outer space to earth but there have some past incidents where a large asteroid struck the surface of Earth causing destruction to large areas. For example, in around 2012, an asteroid strike on Russia released massive amount of energy on earth and caused great destruction but no casualties were reported as it stuck on distant area. Investing in space technology and exploration have made it possible to reduce large asteroid strike by predicting their path and if they have probability to hit earth they can be deviated or broken into small pieces by missile technology.

The last and an important reason for exploring is to identify any kind of impact created by alien life if any present in outer space which may directly or indirectly impact humans. For these reasons, governments are continuously funding for artificial satellites and other machines for exploring planet Mars.

In conclusion, there might be myriad of factors and disadvantages for not allowing to fund space exploration but I strongly believe that advantages of funding space technology and exploration outnumber those disadvantages.