land use for human needs or for endangered animals

The earth is now witnessing a controversial issue in the using and saving of land. There is no denying that land use if essential to the development of human society. If no more land is available for people to explore, the living space will no longer endure the pressure from growth in population. On the other hand, if the land that animals inhabit is invaded by humans, an increasing number will reach the verge of extinction. Consequently, the ecological balance will be severely disrupted. Thus, only through having a good balance between land use and land conservation can such a dilemma be solved.

To begin with, land use ensures further development for human society. It involves the management and modification of wild land into areas for human needs. As many as seven billion people live on this planet today. To satisfy the most fundamental demand of the growing population, land ought to be used properly. For instance, if there is not enough supply of farmland, fewer crops can be harvested for food. This will increase the number of starving people in the world. The same is true with land for residential use. No one wishes to witness the rootless existence of those who are not settled down due to the lack of living space. In addition, the construction of commercial districts and public open spaces as well as the creation of industrial parks are all major projects that make a society advance towards a higher level. Evidently, the use of land is of essential importance to the survival of humankind and the advancement of human society.

Without a doubt, human should also shoulder the responsibility to protect animals from dying out. Endangered species like jaguars, leopards, brown bears, giant pandas and tigers are disappearing at an alarming rate due to the overuse of land and deforestation. Ancient ecosystem is being disturbed during human’s excessive exploitations. Such problems have intensified over recent years with unprecedented population growth and urbanization. Thriving and healthy environment is of vital importance to people’s well-being, but it is met with potential crisis owing to the extinction of rare animals. If more endangered animals are extinct, so will humankind soon or later. As valuable inhabitants on this planet, animals, especially those in danger of extinction, should never be deprived of a space to live and thrive. In a sense, saving land for these animals is equal to saving their lives.

Therefore, the government should seek to order and regulate land use in an efficient and ethical way. It is also imperative to make cautious plans to maintain the balance between using and saving land. Meanwhile, assessing the land potential and searching for alternatives for land use are also favorable options for the government. In doing so, the needs of human can be ensured and natural resources can be safeguarded.

To sum up, the harmony between human and nature is of vital importance in the modern world today. Land management is by no means an easy task. It involves all-round consideration and foresight. Excessive exploitation ought to be strictly prohibited. To use the land cautiously while protecting the endangered animals is a wise choice. Indeed, the far-reaching advancement of a society owes much to a well=balanced social and natural environment