it is better to specialize in only one specific subject than to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects. agree/disagree

Having a glimpse of the education in the universities around the world, we will be marveled at the variety of courses provided for college students to choose. Indeed, as the society becomes more intricate, it requires more people who specialize in many subjects. However, some people believe that it is better to specialize in only one specific subject. This may contains some truth. Others hold the view that it is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects. For my point of view, I prefer the latter standpoint.

To begin with, problems encountered in this contemporary world are so complex that we cannot handle them without knowledge from multiple fields. For instance, in order to build a great building, an architect has to master not only architecture but also art and physics as well as economy, which is helpful when it comes to deal with budget. Therefore, it is by all means reasonable to study various academic subjects. here is a concrete example to illustrate. Madame Curie, a female Polish physicist and chemist, famous for her pioneering research on radioactivity. She studied chemistry and physics hard at college. Because of her board knowledge in physics and chemistry, she is the first scientist in history who were honored two Noble Prize, in both physics and chemistry. Evidently, she would have never be successful without her board knowledge.

Furthermore, students benefit from choose various academic subjects in that they are able to find what they really interest in. Without a doubt, taking courses in various fields provide them a chance to know what suits them most. Take my friend Micheal as an example. He was an innocent boy in high school who had never thought about his future. He had difficulties choosing his major in college. Therefore, his father suggested him try various fields as many as he could. He took art class, architecture, math and computer science in college. Finally, he found that he has a natural gift in computer science. Now, he is a successful software engineer.

Last but not least, to have broad knowledge makes our lives colorful. For instance, it is impossible for people who have not receive any art education to appreciate the meaning of paintings made by Picasso. Accordingly, it is unlikely for people who never take a music class to appreciate the music composed by Mozart. In addition, art education also does good to kids’ mental health which plays an important role in their proper growth.

To sum up, the merits compassed within having broad knowledge of many academic subjects outweighs those in specializing one specific subject. Considering all the details mentioned above, there is every reason to believe that we should have broad knowledge.