Leaders like John F. Kennedy and Martin Luther King have made important contributions to the people of the United States. Name another world leader you think is important. Give specific reasons for your choice.

William Lyon Mackenzie King was a member of the Canadian parliament and head of the Liberal Party in the first

half of the twentieth century. He held the office of prime minister for a total of twenty-one years, which is a longer period of

time than that of any public servant in the history of Canada. Because his terms of office as prime minister were not

consecutive, he held other positions of public service in many appointed and elected offices as well over a period of fifty

years. Although it could be argued that he was an important world leader on the basis of longevity alone, I admire him

because of his qualities of leadership. He was active in government during two world wars and the Great Depression and

played a key role in guiding Canada during those very difficult years. He understood the importance of a unified nation

and worked to bring various partisan groups together for the higher good of the country. Under his tenure in office,

Canada became a participant in world affairs.

His three terms of office as prime minister were marked by compromise and often criticism, but he earned the

respect of most Canadians for his political astuteness and his determination to unify Canada. In part because of his

friendship with Wilfrid Laurier, he was able to preserve the unity between the French-speaking and English-speaking

provinces, a negotiation that must be considered his greatest achievement. One biographer, John Moir of the University

of Toronto, has identified a quality in King called "essential Canadianness." I understand this to mean that he was able to

understand and represent all of the people of Canada.

King's methods were frustrating to some, but he was able to extend Canadian autonomy and maintain unity while

acting within a difficult federal system. He did so for a very long time, even representing Canada in the international arena

in his elder years. In my view, William Lyon Mackenzie King IS worthy of being named in the company of John F. Kennedy

and Martin Luther King as a world leader who made an important contribution to humanity.