Learning about the past has no value for those living in the present

They say that the past has no worth for those of us living in the present. However, studying the past helps us build and ensure a more flourishing present as the knowledge in such areas as medicine, architecture and building is directly related to the past.

Indeed, past events are of great value, especially in the realm of medicine. Knowledge about endemic and pandemic diseases, medical practices, as well as cures, from the past can be brought through generations, making the progress in the field of medicine more considerable. Medical annals provide us with the profound and exhaustive knowledge how to fight against deadly diseases, such as plague or malaria. Without this, the mankind would have died out.

By the same token, there are a lot of things brought from the past, one of them is the architecture, one of the oldest science presented till present. This allows us to create comfortable and safe buildings nowadays. Moreover, the preserved buildings from the past became an object of cultural heritage. The most famous of them are now presented at the museums and are available to the general public. Similarly, anyone gaining the major in the corresponding field can gather additional information from the past which can be used today.

Furthermore, “knowledge is power”, they say, which implies that people working in such areas as politics feel themselves as a much stronger and a comfortable on the meeting with foreigners. There is a concept of making the visit of foreign colleagues more comfortable in order to strengthen relations between the countries by recreating the traditions from the past. This comfort could be created via using national dress or cooking national dishes for the guests.

In conclusion, there is a strong connection between the past experience and today’s life. However, each individual must nonetheless decide for themselves whether it is still a worthwhile expense.