Many cities have rules that teachers should not give the primary school 5 to 10 years old students no more than 30 minutes of homework every day because students have already gotten enough instructions during the day.

Some people agree that cities should establish some regulations asking teachers not giving primary school students more than 30 minutes of homework every day, while others disagree with such policy. For me, I agree that cities should enact regulations that restrict educators from assigning too much assignment. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, educators must focus on primary school students’ studying effectiveness, but assigning too much homework per day might severely affect students’ studying effectiveness. Take my friend, Todd, as an example. Todd was studying at Tsaotun Elementary School, Nantou City 15 years ago. At the same time, Nantou City enacted a regulation that disallowed elementary school teachers to assign more than 2 homework per school day. Therefore, Todd had 6 hours of free time from 4 p.m. to 10 p.m. every single day. Since Todd was an exceptionally hard-working student, he spent nearly four hours studying English, math, and science day by day. Eventually, he acquired A-pluses and As on every subject. On the contrary, my sister, Jane, lived in Taipei City, and there were no laws similar to the one mentioned in the statement in Taipei. Jane’s science teacher was extremely strict. That is, her teacher assigned weekly projects to them. She needed to spend more than an hour per day purchasing necessary science equipment, searching for experiment steps online, and writing project report. As a result, she did not have enough time to study other subjects like English and Mandarin. So even though she procured 95 points on her science report, Jane got C and D+ in English and Mandarin classes respectively.

In addition, instructors should be concerned about young students’ mental health. Nonetheless, without elementary assignment limiting regulations, students might become mentally unhealthy. For example, my brother’s city, Taipei, did not have any rules that regulate the amount of homework a teacher can give every day, so my brother’s math teacher usually assigned no less than 4 pages of math worksheet nearly every day. As a result, my brother frequently felt exhausted and unhappy after spending more than 2 hours per day completing his assignment. In the long run, his incessant despondence made him develop depression, and his constant fear of not being able to finish the homework on time made him get insomnia at a really young age. On the other hand, my nephew, Ken, moved to Hualien City with my uncle and aunt when he was 7 years old. Hualien City had elementary school assignment-related laws that limited the amount of homework a teacher can give, so Ken had no less than 7 hours of free time per day. He often played video games and board games with his friends after school. Hence, Ken felt content with his school life, and he did not have any mental health issues.

In conclusion, I maintain that cities should not give the primary school 5 to 10 years old students no more than 30 minutes of homework every day because the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.