Many companies provide important products or services, but also damage the environment. Some people believe that the best way to stop companies from harming the environment is to require them to pay a penalty such as higher tax or a large fine when they cause environmental damage. Other people think there are better ways to stop the companies from harming the environment. Which view do you agree with and why?

It goes without saying that in today’s sophisticated world that we live in, the environment is hurt by some negative human activities. Finding some solutions to prevent environmental degradation is becoming a vital issue today. A controversial question, which is often raised regarding this issue, is some people hold the idea that compelling companies to pay a higher tax or a higher fine is the best solution to this problem. However, some others believe, there are better solutions to stop the companies from harming the environment. I personally agree with the latter view. In the lines below, I present and explain two main reasons to support this thesis

The first exquisite point that can be mentioned here is, the government can grant companies some incentives and other financial assistance to provide the latest technologies to reduce the harmful effects of their activity. This attitude regarding the issue, not only does reduce the main negative impacts of industries on the environment, but also helps the economy of the country. Imagine a factory that plenty of workers and staff working there, so with having the punishment- approach, business owners have to downsize their staff to afford tax expenditures. Conversely, with motivating companies to endeavor more regarding environmental issues, we can handle both sides of the matter.

Furthermore, governments can surveillance polluting industries constantly. To be more specific, they can measure and monitor amounts of pollutants which these companies release into the air or water, and if they have nonstandard pollutants, oblige them to impose the latest anti-pollution technologies in their plants. As proof for these points, one can point out recent and comprehensible research that is relevant to this discussion. A number of eminent researchers at the University of Tehran's center for environmental studies have concluded that the controlling approach of government, benefits more than impose high taxes or fines. On average, it can be argued that, in the recent two decades, companies, which have been monitored continually, have 30% less contamination in comparison with ones that have paid fines and higher taxes. The researchers attribute this result in the attitude among the second group of companies, which they have felt that they can pass the hurdles with money, and they have not to solve their environmental issue.

In conclusion, taking all the aforementioned arguments into consideration, it can be concluded that if we see the issue holistically, governments should encourage pollutant industries by granting some financial assistance to utilize the fewer pollutant devices, and surveillance their activity process continuously.