Many filmmakers made movies based on books. When a movie is produced based on books, some people prefer to read books before watching films, other people choose to watch movie first. What do you think?

There are many movies are created based on books like novels or comics. Do we need to read the books first or watch the film? Personally, I prefer to read the books first, because of some reasons

First of all, I like to understand the most original version since no matter how the director tries to reappear the story, they still have something misunderstanding between the author. I prefer that reading the author's story first and then imagine a movie on my own, like the character's appearance, sound, and each scene and next, I will watch the movie to compare how different between mine and the director's. It always makes me surprised that people's thought can be very variable even we watch the same story. on the other hand, maybe there are many different directors remake the movie. If I read the books first, I can distinguish which film is more closed to the original story easier.

Secondly, normally the books are more completed than film in the detail. For example, the books like "The Lord of Ring", "Harry Potter", and "Game of Thrones" are way complex than their film, each episode in books may be more than six hundreds of pages, the director wanted to condense these extensive content to a movie only two hours, they must delete some details to make the audience watch it more smoothly. When I go to watching the movie with some friends after I've already finished novels, I can completely understand the storyline and know why the director tell us story this way, but my friends didn't, they may give the movie wrong criticism since they haven't read the novels.

Moreover, sometimes we watch the film first, then we can't read the book anymore. Because the words are less simulation than the video, besides, we already know the result, but the opposite is different. We can still watch the graphics and listen to the soundtrack even we know the story.

According to the above reasons, I always choose the books first instead movie.