Many filmmakers make movies based on books. When a movie is produced based on books, some people prefer to read books before watching films, other people choose to watch the movie first. Which one do you think is better? Why?

Books and movies are based on different principles and both have different writers. Depending on that, both writers cannot interpret the story in the same direction. Both scripts would have major differences in their stories. If I have to choose from a novel based movie or original book, then I will choose a book. I will elaborate on my reasons in the ensuing paragraphs.

First, the most striking reason is books not limited to time and authors can relate the story with more details. Filmmakers must relate their story in a limited time, two or maximum three hours, while time is not a limitation for authors, and they can write their story in a book with thousands of pages or even in 2 or 3 volume. Therefore, filmmakers should neglect many details, while the author by enjoying their innovative mind and imagination can tell more details about the story and bring their readers into the role of the story’s characters. For example, I read all the series of Harry Potter, after that I watched the Harry Potter movie series, but I was so disappointed because the movie had little details. Further, sometimes because of the consequences movie cannot include all the details of the true story. For instance, recently I watched a movie story about the former prime minister of India. In that movie, few dialogs were censured because of the political conflicts. So, I decided to read a book which represented the whole true story of his life. This realized that reading books is better than watching movies.

Second, filmmakers like to use a bit of artistic license, and can sometimes change a storyline completely. This can be to suit the audience the film is being aimed at or just because they feel their interpretation is more appropriate. This changes the whole story of the real character. Moreover, a film is just one interpretation of a novel. If a novel has been read by a million people, then that means there are a million versions of that novel floating around in people's minds. Thus, it is extremely improbable that the filmmaker has the same interpretation as you, then only you can enjoy that movie.

Let’s put in a nutshell, as mentioned above reading books is more exciting. It gives freedom to imagine the whole story and broaden people’s horizons. I will prefer to read books rather than watching a movie based on the book.