Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Grades encourage students to learn. Use specific example and reasons to explain your opinion

Learning is a lifelong process. Basic learning experience comes from school education. The main purpose of the school education should be providing knowledge to students; but these days, students’ main concern became their grades rather than knowledge. In my opinion, grades do not encourage students to learn, but instead, it depresses them, and even sometimes force them to cheat in exams.

First, the main disadvantage of grades is that it demotivates students in an exam. Due to fear of low grades students get depression. Students try to get good grades because they know that only good grades can help them to get admission to top universities. Moreover, after graduating from top universities, chances of getting a good job are higher. When students get depressed because of their failure, they choose the wrong path in life, such as suicide. For example, I studied in Physical Therapy school form Rajiv Gandhi University, India. Students from social study department done a research project on the suicide rates in youngsters and its causes. The research study showed that out of whole numbers of the suicide of youngsters, seventeen percent of attempted suicide because of failure during their education. That was an eye-opening result. Thus, the university conducted motivational seminars, regarding educational motivation and help to overcome life problems, for all students of all departments.

Second, students try their best to get excellent grades. When they fail they choose other paths which damage their future, such as cheating in exams or addiction to drugs. India has a big black market to get good grades in the exam. It is one type scam which helps students to get admission or clear an exam for a job, etc. For that, students or their parents pay huge money to get good scores. Further, cheating in an exam and guilt of failure attracts students towards bed influences, such as drugs, alcohol, etc. For instance, my friend Manish is not really a brilliant student, however, his parents want him to be a doctor. Thus, he studied hard to get admission in B. J. Medical college for bachelor's in medicines and surgery. Unfortunately, he did not get the required grades for admission. He tried indirectly through the black market to get admission in college. He failed in that try, and he lost his money as well during the scam process. He got so much demotivated and started taking drugs. Fortunately, his parents found out early about his addiction, and they helped him to come out from his addiction. He almost took more than a year to overcome his addiction.

Let’s put in the nutshell, in daily life people do not need any grades to justify their knowledge. Students should be able to practically imply their knowledge that is the main purpose of education. I strongly believe that grades are demotivating students from learning, and it leads them to bad influences.