Many students have to live with roommates while going to school or university. What are some of the important qualities of a good roommate? Use specific reasons and examples to explain why these qualities are important.

University students have to apply for universities that are far away from home. Thus, they should spend most of their off-college time with their roommates. Choosing an appropriate roommate is a crucial issue that should be considered deeply. In my idea, a suitable roommate should be organized and similar to me in personality traits and cultural aspects.

First of all, as I am a neat and very organized person, my roommate should be neat and organized too. For example, I have a daily plan that has detailed description on my duties. My roommate should have such plan. I should what he will do in specific time of the day. Lacking organization make me frustrate. I don't count on acquaintances in my life, so I expect my roommate should be organized too. In addition, I am very neat. I should know all of my stuff's place. Being neat is necessary to my roommate too. Because I can't help him to find her stuff all time in this complex and busy era. Usually, Being neat and organized are complementary. Not being neat means not being organized.

Next, we should have some similarities in personality traits. For example, I am an introvert and agreeable person with higher rate of conscientious. I can't stand chatty people which always talk about themselves. My roommate should be more agreeable and not to be rigid in facing with day life difficulties. He should be responsible for our room's duties; washing dishes, cleaning room and take care of our stuff. In addition, we should have similar hobbies for our leisure time. For example, I love soccer and really eager to watch it along with my friends especially roommate. It would be better if he and me share our common interest with each other without showing any disinteresting.

Finally, we should culturally similar together. This is very important. For example, I am Muslim. I have some restriction and obligations in my religion as my roommate has them; for instance, fasting in Ramadan and doing pray every day. I expect my roommate to respect my believes. This can prevent any further confliction and struggles. Furthermore, Being culturally similar can help us to make our life easier. For example, my friend has a roommate from China. He should cook every day for herself because Chinese food are not compatible with Iranian diet. They eat food that are weird and disgusting for us; like snakes, frogs or other creature. But we our main meal is consist of rice, bread and meat as well as vegetables. Thus, cultural similarity is very important in choosing a roommate.

In conclusion, I prefer a roommate that is organized, neat and have similarities in culture and personality. If a person can pass all of my criteria for a suitable roommate, I'll ask him to live with me immediately. I want to have good memories from my roommate and college period.