What are some of the important qualities of a good roommate? Use specific reasons and examples to explain why these qualities are important.

Choosing a roommate to live with is a much more important decision then most students think it is. To me, it is like giving your house key to someone you may not know too well. I need to be able to trust this person fully without a doubt in my mind that they will respect my privacy and personal belongings. Hanging out with someone and living with somebody are two very different activities. In order for me to choose a person worthy enough to be my roommate, that person must have specific qualities I am looking for. The most important characteristic should be honesty. Other traits I would look for is cleanliness and a clean slate.

If I am going to live with someone, it is imperative that they understand and practice honesty. My possessions are of high value to me and I want to be able to leave the room worry free; that is, even my smallest insignificant piece of property goes untouched unless permission is granted. I would treat the other person’s property in the same fashion, so I expect it in return.

I cannot stand to live in a disorganized place where everything is cluttered around. I am a neat person and to me, everything has it own place. I like things to be organized so I know exactly where it is when I need it. I found that I do not get along well with messy people. This is not to say that I don’t have messy friends, but living with messy people is a different ball game.

Having a clean slate is an important characteristic to me because I don’t want to get caught up in problems resulting from the illegal activities of someone else. Even though I may not have committed any crimes, I could still be involved because I live with that person. Those are extra problems I could do without. Some of those activities can also be contagious, where I might start participating in it merely because I am around it. Living with the person forces me to be around it, whereas if I was just hanging around, I can just leave and go elsewhere.

There are many people I hang out with but I would not choose to live with them. In order for me to even consider living with them, they would have to be honest, tidy, and clean, at the very least.