Many students starting university choose a major (main field of study at university), and parents often give them advise about which major to choose.

Some parents tell students to choose the major that most interests the students.

Other parents tell students that it is best to choose a major that will lead to a job with a high salary, even if that major may not be the one that most interest the students.

Which approach do you believe is better, and why? Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

There are always difficulties for students to make their own decision that to choose the major based on their interests or not. In the meanwhile, parents play an important part to their final choice. This essay will present arguments in favor of that parents should tell students to choose a major which will lead to a job with high salary, but not base on students’ interests.

First, students should prioritize their futures to survive in the competitive environment today, and interests could not promise a better life for them in the future. Although there are gaps between parents and children, parents are still more experienced and familiar with the society. And based on experience of parents, choosing a promising major would not fail students by preventing students from the risky lifestyle.

Second, the payment plays an important part in this choice. Undoubtedly, People can’t live without money especially for those who have just entered the society. A promising major serves as the key to take the lead in peoples’ early lives and people will gain more confidence and respects from others by making more money. According to the report, a self- confident person is more willing to challenge himself or herself and win a better chance to be successful in the future. On the contrary, most of works that based on interests start with working hard and tragedy. For instance, almost everyone likes to paint in the young age. However, when painting comes to a job or something people should rely on to support their lives, painting will be an ambiguous choice because painting can’t be translated into a steady income in our early life.

Irrefutably, interests serve as intrinsic motivation for student to keep moving on. In other word, students would put more effort on subjects what they like and may not shut it down easily. However, it doesn’t mean that students would not find their interests in the major which is less appealing to them in the future. For example, there are lots of doctors who were forced by their parents to become doctors although they could hardly enjoy themselves in those arduous tasks. However, after their graduations from college, saving lives becomes their true love and the meaning of their lives. To our surprises, hatred translates into interests.

In conclusion, parents should tell students to choose a promising major even if they are not interest in. While, it is understandable that some people may disagree with this position, the evidence and examples provided above strongly support the argument that choosing a promising major prevent students from risks, get steady income, and find true loves through the process of being mature. These factors collectively bliss students to get better lives in the future.