In modern society, when interviewers interview candidates, sometimes they use other sources to get information of the candidates. Which of the following do you think is a better solution?

1. Talk to the former boss of the candidate

2. Check the online profile of social media

3. One month probation to see if the candidate fits the job

Personally, I believe that talking to the former boss of the candidate is a better option to obtain the information of a candidate. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, companies focus on acquiring knowledgeable employees, and asking former supervisors for more information of a candidate can make sure that the interviewers are skillful. To elaborate, take my father's organization as an example. My father's company asked my father's college professors whether he was able to write a news report that is both comprehensible and concise in less than an hour. As a result, they found out that my father had enough skills and the potential to become a journalist, so he was hired. Apparently, inquiring former boss can help interviewers understand the candidate better. However, if his manager judged his knowledge by viewing his profiles on social media like Facebook, he could not determine whether my father is knowledgeable in journalism, since it is relatively easy to lie and brag about one's skill on these social media. Clearly, judging a candidate's skill by profiles cannot help interviewers understand whether a candidate is suitable for his job.

In addition, companies place an emphasis on reputation, and querying the interviewer's former boss can help them procure a better reputation. To elaborate, take my brother's company as an example. My brother's company always filed an email and asked a candidate's former supervisors several essential information, including "Does the candidate always dresses properly to work?", "Is the candidate always polite to his supervisors or subordinates?", etc. By doing so, the company can prevent rude employees from damaging the company's image. Nonetheless, if the company use one month probation to test if the candidate is suitable for the job, the candidate can definitely pretend and conceal his awful characteristic during this period. If this is the case, the company cannot tell whether the candidate is a courteous man or not. As a result, the company might accidentally hire a worker with a terrible personality.

Last but not least, interviewers care about efficiency, and talking to the former supervisors of a candidate can increase their efficiency. Take my company as an example. When I participated in the interview of the company, they required me to participate in a probation program to examine my skills and knowledge. In brief, they demanded me to assemble a computer in a single day. Moreover, they told me to write a functioning operation system kernel module, and it took me nearly a week to finish the whole program. As a result, it took them nearly two weeks to do the program. Nevertheless, had they asked my former boss about my skills, they could save a great amount of time organizing such program. Evidently, this could prevent the company from wasting too much time examining a candidate's particular knowledge.

In short, I maintain that talking to the former boss of the candidate is the best way to obtain data about the candidate. This is because companies care about efficiency, reputation, as well as employees' skills.