Modern technology has brought about changes in the roles of men and women. Discuss some of these changes. Do you think these changes have been beneficial?

Nowadays, modern technology has created a more developed world. Doubtlessly, human quality of life has become easier and more comfortable as a result of the latest technological advancements. Unbelievable and significant breakthroughs have been achieved in different spheres taking human minds to superior levels. Fortunately, not only people s lifestyle has been improved; but also their way of thinking. A more open-minded society has been emerging lately influenced by the effects of technology. We are living an age of social transformations and acceptance. Definitely, one of those changes is regarding the roles of men and women.

Before the technological revolution the world is going through now, there was an unequal society in terms of genders and their rights. Chauvinism remained in mostly every social sphere. Stereotypes underestimated women s value and capacity. For many years, females were not taking account as a work force. They lived under the male s shadow. Their place was at home and their job was to be a good wife and a nurturer. On the other hand, men represented the strength and intelligence. They were the only capable of doing the hard work.

As time went by, technology was replacing the manual labor force with sophisticated and easy-manageable machines. Many industries were expanded and new businesses were opened. The large-scale productions triggered the necessity of new and fresh workers. In those circumstances, women stepped in and they found a vacancy in many factories and the agricultural industry .Then, they started to occupy the place that was for many years considered only for men.

Last but not least, to make our lives easier, at home we count with electronic devices that save us time and effort when doing the chores. For example, refrigerators maintain the food fresh, microwaves shorten the cook time, vacuums make the cleaning of the house and washing machines do the laundry quickly. Therefore, women are able to have a career without failing their duty at home.

Finally, despite the prevailing gender discrimination, technology has boosted equality among genders creating more job opportunities and facilitating our lives. Hence, females are no longer considered efficient and prepared just for the house chores. They have gained their place in the job market as well as men. Therefore, I strongly believe that modern technology has rejected the different treatment towards women and has influenced a positive change regarding sexism.