Neighbors are the people who live near us. In your opinion, what type of neighbor is the best to have?

-someone who is quiet

-someone who we are similar to

-someone who is supportive

Use specific details and examples in your answer.

Neighbors are the people whom we do not choose to be part of our lives, yet they play the most vital part of it. We almost see them on a daily basis in many different situations and that inevitably creates a relationship that is very unique than any other relationship we face in our lives. There are too many kinds of neighbors that we encounter, the quiet, the supportive and those who we are similar to. If I had ever the chance to choose y neighbors, I will certainly choose the supportive one. I reached this opinion due to many reasons that I will explore in the subsequent paragraphs.

First of All, Neighbors, even if they are not the closest to our hearts, they are the nearest to us. They will be the first to knock their doors asking for help if we face an emergency or seek any support. I believe that we will not be comfortable doing so except if we already know that our neighbors are supportive enough and that we can easily break the ice between us. On the other hand, some neighbors are so isolated and quiet that we may not ask for their help even if the house was on fire! Last Christmas, when all my community staff is on vacation, I forgot my keys inside the business center including my apartment, car, and business center keys and passes! I needed someone to open me the business center and of course knows me, otherwise, he may speculate if I live with them in the complex or not. The first one came to my mind was our friendly always smiling neighbor on the first floor. In the beginning, I was so shy to disturb him on the holidays, but I didn’t have any choice especially that it was so cold. However, he was super supportive. He made me feel comfortable while asking him and rapidly helped me get my keys. If it was not for my friendly supportive neighbor, I would have stayed in the street.

Secondly, supportive neighbors help in creating a better and safer community. This kind of people are always cooperative and do not mind tackling problems and try to solve it even if it is not touching their lives. Some others are very negative, if the problem is not clearly affecting their lives, they will not move an inch. My personal experience has a great influence on my opinion. 5 years ago, my friend’s building in the apartment complex was infested with roaches. Apart from the idea that roaches scare her, the whole building turned to be so nasty that we stopped visiting her. She tried to raise her voice several times to the leasing office, but they didn’t take any action until she united with 4 of her neighbors and they made a formal claim and raised it to the complex mother company. In a few days, the building was carefully cleaned up and the roaches were eradicated. All of this happened just because they were supportive neighbors to each other which explains why I prefer supportive neighbors to any other type of neighbors.