Neighbors are the people who live near us. In your opinion, what type of neighbor is the best to have?

-someone who is quiet

-someone who we are similar to

-someone who is supportive

Use specific details and examples in your answer.

There are many kinds of neighbors that we meet, the quiet, the supportive and those who we are similar to. If I have ever the chance to choose my neighbors, I will certainly choose the supportive one. I am building my opinion on a number of reasons that I will explore in the subsequent paragraphs.

First of All, Neighbors, even if they are not the closest to our hearts, they are the nearest to us. They will be the first to knock their doors asking for help if we face any emergency or seek any support. I believe that we will not be comfortable doing so except if we already know that our neighbors are supportive enough and that we can easily break the ice between us. On the other hand, some neighbors are so isolated and quiet that we may not ask for their help even if the house was on fire! Last Christmas, when all my community staff are on vacation, I forgot my keys inside the business center including my apartment, car and business center keys and passes! I needed someone to open for me the business center and of course be familiar with me, otherwise he may speculate if I live with them in the community or not. The first one came to my mind was our friendly and always smiling neighbor on the first floor. At the beginning I was so shy to disturb him on the holidays, but I didn’t have any other choice. However, he was super supportive. He made me feel comfortable asking him a favor and rapidly helped me get my keys. If it was not for my friendly supportive neighbor, I would have stayed in the street.

Secondly, supportive neighbors help creating a better and safer community. This kind of people are always cooperative and do not mind tackling problems and trying to solve them even if it is not touching their lives. Some others are very negative, if the problem is not clearly affecting their lives, they will not move an inch. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter is influenced by a friend’s experience. 5 years ago, my friend’s building in the apartment complex was infested with roaches. Apart from the idea that roaches scare her, the whole building turned to be so filthy that we stopped visiting her. She tried to raise her voice several times to the leasing office, but they didn’t take any action until she united with 4 of her neighbors and they made a formal claim and raised it to the apartment complex mother company. In few days, the building was carefully cleaned and the roaches were eradicated. All of this happened just because they were supportive to each others which explains why I prefer this type of neighbors to any other.