Nowadays children rely too much on the technology like computers smart phone video games for fun and entertainment Playing simpler toys or playing outside with friends would be better for the children s development

The method of how children have fun is usually a hot topic that parents concerned about, especially with the emergence of various kinds of electronic media entertainment. Compared with playing computers or smart phones for fun, many people hold the statement that it’s better for children to follow the traditional entertainment ways with the consideration of children’s development, such as playing simpler toys and playing outside with friends. In my view, the method of children have fun through technology is not worse than through the latter one for children’s development.

On the one hand, technology offers more choices for children to make new friends and more sources for children to learn useful knowledge. Having the ability to make new friends is an important part in the children’s development. As we all know, many computer games need players to take part in groups to complete the game goals. When children play these kinds of electronic games, they need to communicate with their teammates and cooperate with teammates together to achieve the final game success. During this communication and cooperation, there exists high possibility for children to make new friends who share the same interests and similar values. Also, there are not only electronic games on the internet, there are also many useful knowledges. For example, my little niece is only 9 years old, she loves giant panda very much. She usually searches for the panda videos when she surfs the internet and she has learned many information about giant pandas from these videos. Since these videos often introduce some basic living habits about pandas.

On the other hand, playing simpler toys or playing outside activities are beneficial for children’s health. Having enough sports is very significant for children to keep mental and physical health, which also plays the critical role during the children’s development. When children play outside activities, such as playing football, playing basketball and even just chasing with each other, they have to run or jump. Therefore, while children are just playing outside activities with their friends, they also are doing some physical exercises. Furthermore, according to the common sense that sports are beneficial to people’s mental health, let alone it does to the children’s mental health. Appropriate physical exercises can simulate the mental development of children and make children become more confident and optimistic.

To sum up, there should be no prejudices against either of these two entertainment ways. Both having fun through technology and playing outside activities are helpful to the children’s development.