Nowadays children rely too much on the technology like computers smartphone video games for fun and entertainment playing simpler toys or playing outside with friends would be better for children s development

With the advance in technology, the ways of recreation for children are getting more and more diverse and have a digitalized trend. However, games that do not rely on the cybernetic space, such as playing chess or hanging out with friends, also deserve our attention because compared with entertainment relying on technology, those that do not are better for children's development physically and mentally.

The first benefit is that playing with simpler toys that do not rely too much on technology is better for children's physical health. The study, conducted by Children Health Centre in 2020, revealed that the time children spend on high-tech devices, such as computer games and smartphones, is much higher than the time playing outside.

And further investigations state that compared with children who spend more time playing outside, those who do not are more at risk of suffering from myopia and other eye diseases. Also, Children who indulge themselves with digital screens not only have problems with their eyes but also with their spines. This is primarily due to poor posture while playing computer games. It leads to the excessive inward curvature of their spines, which is detrimental to their body growth. Therefore, the experts from the aforementioned study highly suggested that playing outside and sports can have a positive impact on preventing children's bodies from these physical health issues.

In addition to improving physical health, children can also be great beneficiaries of their psychological development if they play outside with friends. On the one hand, there is many of junk information and temptations in computer games, such as violence, porn, crimes, bleeding scenes, etc. As the saying goings, monkey see monkey do. Children are too young to tell right from wrong and can be easily deceived by the cybernetic space. On the other hand, in terms of playing outside with friends, children can have opportunities to have a real connection with the world instead of chatting with a profile on the screen, where they can confront their shyness and communicate with friends by using multiple ways of communication, such as eye contact, body languages, and even tones of speaking. By doing so, children are more likely to have a comprehensive understanding of communication and interpersonal relationship, which is the cornerstone leading to healthy psychological development.

Admittedly, some people may think that playing high-tech games asks for higher intelligence. But actually, I think playing with low-tech toys or playing outside can also foster creativity and observation as digital toys do, which can further strengthen their comprehensive cognitive skills. Simple toys do not mean that you do not need to rely on intelligence and creativity. Taking chess as an example, though the rules of chess are simple, the ways of winning the games are not easy. There are trillions of strategies to untie a dilemma during the games. The simpler the rule, the harder it is to play it well.

To sum up, playing with simpler toys or playing outside is always a better choice for children's physical and psychological development. A world where children could spend most of their time playing outside with friends and not rely heavily on technology would be a beneficial one for them.