Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups and all members of the group receive the same grade mark on the project Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to

The most important forcing students to work as a team is to teach them how to improve their soft skills such as teamwork, leadership, communication skills, and so on. A great team consists of different people with different abilities and different tasks to do. The amazing variety of teammates most leads them to brainstorm better practical ideas and cover others’ weaknesses, but what happens when someone is not sticking to the plan? In this case, there must be different outputs for every student and they should not be considered equal. So I completely disagree with giving all of them the same scores.

To begin with, most of the time the responsibilities of all the members of the team are not the same, and rating everyone the same grade is not fair. Imagine the most powerful person who handles the hardest part of the job and tries to be the glue guy, and help everyone to have better socialization, and then there is the lazy one who frequently blunders in the team and is an actual disaster to the team. When we consider both strong one and lazy one the same we just going to destroy the value of hardworking ruthlessly and this means even the best hardworking member who is now starting to believe there is no justice in scores, is going to lose their momentum, and this is going to put an end to the original cause of creating a unified team.

Furthermore, this type of rating increases the chance of cheating of fraud students who do not take their job seriously by thinking that they will get the same grades as others anyway. There is always that rebel, outlaw student who never respects the rights of their teammates. as soon as he finds out about the rating manner, they are going to find an illegal way to run from the rules and cheat. In this case, even others are going to be extremely angry because they feel abused and soon they are going to be tired of this outrageous situation and ask for punishment of the guilty person. So what happens when they face this injustice approach of grading? They will lose their faith in trusting, which causes them to lose their hope for working hard and communicating honestly in future projects.

In conclusion, this irrational approach is not a good idea at all. Not only is it unfair because of the different members’ responsibilities, but also it can lead to more unreal grades for fraud students who cheat in their projects.