Nowadays many job interviewers and employers are looking for various additional sources of information to better understand a job application Which is the best way for the employers to better know the situation of a job application Contacting previous emp

In modern society, with the popularity of social media and social networking, it is easier for job interviewers to glean more infomation about their job applicants. At this time, a general controversy arises. Some people believe checking the profiles of the applicants is the most efficient way to grasp a clear picture of them, while others hold a different belief that we had better get in touch with their previous workmates to evaluate their situations. As far as I am concerned, I hardly concur with these two ideas, and I believe letting the applicant work in the real workplace should be viewed as a superior option.

In the first place, working in the real environment can help job interviewers have a more comprehensive understanding of the job applicant in terms of his real abilities. As we all know, possessing the ability to put what have been learned in to practice is cirtical not only for employees but also for companies. Companies treasure employees who can make profits to them instead of workers who only remember the dull equations and theories listed on the textbooks. Sometimes the nerds who can succeed in exams and have a perfect GPA on their resume cannot do a good job in real workplaces. If the job applicant is granted the chance to show himself, the job interviewer can point out the merits and disadvantages of him with ease, which actually is a time-saving behavior in the long term. For example, last year I had an short period of internship in a Internet magnate. During that time, I performed well, and my bosses had lots of opportunities to evaluate my compentence, ranging from speaking skills to math and programming skills. My leader was very satisfied. And fininally, I got the offer that enables me to work there for a longer time.

In addition, it is also of vital improtance for the interviewers to figure out whether the job hunters are suitable for the working group. Our society values cooperation and everyone is interralated just like different components of an engine. So the intervewers should attach great importance to ensure that the right person go into the right group according to their personality and characteristics. Whether the job applicant can understand the company culture and get accustomed to the working atmosphere or not? Whether he can work with other colleagues harmoniously without triggering some quarrels or not? Only through letting him have an opportunity to work in that workplace, can these questions be answered.

Admittedly, we can also obtain some valuable and manifold information about the job hunters from other channels, such as their previous coworkers and their social media such as LinkedIn, a pervasive career platform used by people all over the world. But we have to be aware of the deficiencies of those information that we get from those methods. They may be biased, leading us get discriminatory impressions of the applicants and outcomes. And when evaluate one person, we need a more fair method in order to avoid missing some real talents.

In a nutshell, working in the company is the best way for job interviewers to judge the applicants. Through this way, not only can the advantages and disadvantages in practice be fully checked, but also the fitness between applicants and the organization can be taken into consideration in an effecient way.