Nowadays, people are busy with many things. If you were given a short period of time, what would you choose :

1. Learn to play a new sport you never played;

2. Learn to cook food in a different way;

3. Learn to do some hand-made work like clothes.

It is difficult for people to really squeeze time for activities which are taken as hobbies, from their tight day-to-day schedule. If I was given a short period of time to actually learn something new that is not aiming for study or job, comparing among following activities: playing a new sport, learning how to cook, or working on some hand-made projects, I will be more willing to choose to learn how to cook. Because I think cooking and feeding myself with a great meal are definitely beneficial to my physical and mental health. I will depict my opinion in following sections.

Many people love cooking because it is a great way to relax. Operating on raw food materials and turn them into delicious dishes really brings satisfaction to me. I love to bake during my leisure time. Just like doing the chemical experience, with the aid of heat and bacteria, ordinary things like eggs, butter and flour will come out with tasty cakes and cookies. This magical process is really enjoyable. Cooking in different ways also amplifies my understanding of how food ingredients interact and complement each other, just like composing a symphony.

Learning how to cook for myself is also good for my physical health. Instead of consuming more high calorie junk food and take away food, I can learn to prepare myself healthier dishes, especially when I want to lost some weight and keep on a diet. Additionally, cutting down the expenses on those take away food will thus save me more money. For instance, I can prepare myself a nutritious lunch and bring it to work, instead of spending twice of the price to buy food from restaurants.

Another good reason for learning how to cook is, you can expand your social circle and meet new friends that share the same interests. Nowadays, it is fashionable to show someone’s specialties through his/her social media. Life skills like cooking allows you to be shown as a person who has great enthusiasm on daily life, which will no doubt can draw people’s attention, and further more, they will like and appreciate your sharing on the internet.

To wrap up, it will be truly entertaining and fulfilling to learn how to cook if I was given the chance. Not only I can master another useful life skill , but also find the best way to relief my stress.