Nowadays, in some colleges or universities, professors prohibit students from using electronic devices ( such as computers, laptops and smart-phones ) that can help them to connect to the internet while the class is going on. Do you think it is a good idea and why? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Today, in many universities, professors ban students from using internet-connected electronic devices in their class. I believe that this is a very indispensable classroom regulation. There are some reasons and examples to illustrate my point of view.

The use of internet-connected devices reduces learning. Many college students now rely on the Internet for socializing and entertainment, and sometimes even indulge in it. At the same time, university professors spend most of their time in the classroom on academic matters, such as giving lectures or answering questions, rather than disciplining students like many middle school teachers do. As a result, many college students use their computers or mobile phones to surf social networks, shopping, and even play games in class instead of looking for information or taking notes. In college, for example, we all took computers and cell phones to some general education classes. Everyone used to watch video or play games together in class, usually just for a while, but then a two-hour class went by. Every time there was a quiz, several of us had to cram our notes together for review, and sometimes we could not even get a complete set of notes and struggled to pass each exam.

The use of networked devices can affect the professor's judgment of students' learning situation. It is widely accepted that the content taught by professors in class is not fixed and it will be adjusted according to students' understanding and mastery. If the students understand quickly and the application is correct, the professor will quickly move on to the next part of the lecture, but if the students cannot answer the professor's questions accurately, the professor needs to reexplain or give a few more examples, or even change the teaching method. This requires students to provide real feedback. However, internet-connected electronic devices can help students find any information they need in class, and even computers can intelligently answer professors' questions. Students seem to have mastered what they have learned, but actually they do not, which is such a common situation in arts and social courses such as history and literature. Students often perform greatly differently in their papers and exams precisely because they answer questions, hold discussions and write thesis with the help of network. However, without the help of the powerful database of the Internet, they are forced to give up their secrets in the exams.

Admittedly, it is necessary for students to use electronic devices in class. On the one hand, using electronic devices to take notes is faster than writing by hand, and it is also convenient to mark key points, while reviewing is very clear and planned. But all we need is an electronic device, not a network at all. On the other hand, we can't deny that many times students do need to look up the authoritative source in class, or retrieve a terminology mentioned by the professor themselves, to reduce the problem of interrupting the class. However, if the school can build a strong enough on-campus database and a convenient local area network, this problem can be solved well.

In summary, networked electronic devices should be prohibited in class in universities and colleges.