At one high school, more of its students than ever before have been caught cheating on their homework assignments. For example, many students have asked other students to provide them with answers for assignments. The school is considering making a change to help decrease the number of students who cheat on homework. Which one of the following actions do you think will be most effective and why?

- Asking parents to monitor their children as they do their homework and confirm that their children have not cheated.

- Increasing the penalty (punishment) for cheating

- Asking teachers to create homework assignments that will make it more difficult for students to cheat

As far as educational system is concerned, assignments which are given to students, whether to conduct in their homes or at school, definitely play an instructive role in learning process of students. However, quite a large number of students, especially lazy and playful ones, allocate most of their time to discover a cheating way rather than attempt to do their assignment beforehand. In order to eliminate this problem, some people have suggested that either parents should engage in controlling and overseeing their children in order to carry out their homework, or teachers should raise the volume of their homework as a punishment. I, personally, subscribe to the idea that providing other methods of assignments – such as doing them in the class or asking students question about the assignment is axiomatically more practical. The reasons for which I believe so are elaborated upon as follows.

To begin with, as long as children have not learned to do their homework on their own, they will not make any progress in their education and also their future, real life and job experience. With this in mind, schools and teachers, more responsible for this dilemma, should change their methods to stimulate children to conduct their assignments. Parents are just able to take care of their children when they are home, mostly at nights, but children who tend to cheat at their homework would highly exploit the absence of their parents, for example when they are at works or go shopping. Teachers, in contrast, can employ a workable solution, including provide some extra time for children to do their homework in class and inquire some questions of them, in the next session, around the taught subjects. In addition, by the advancement of technology and the Internet, teachers are able to hold a daily online quiz of children as well as give small memorable gifts to the highest score students, five students with best scores for instance. By doing so, children could be not only obliged to do the assignment by themselves but also encouraged to study harder to achieve the prize.

Secondly, there is a well-known proverb which says, “pen is mightier than sword” – that is – for eradicating a hardship, punishment is not always the best way. Having punished because they have not implemented their homework, students are highly possible to lose their motivation to continue their education. “Student punishment”, physically or mentally, is predominantly the most significant factor in school leaving, thereby paving the way for starting inappropriate actions, namely committing crime or using drugs. Nevertheless, based on the initially mentioned proverb, it is far lucrative for students to being stimulated for study efficiently and optimistically. The more student become familiar with enjoyable method of studying, the less deceiving ways they would investigate for doing their homework, and the better opportunity would be provided for them to show their extremely hidden abilities.

To sum up, with all this taken into account, it is crystal clear that teachers by creating innovative methods of teaching and controlling the students – instead of punishment and giving the task of monitoring to children – indisputably make students leave their bad habits, motivating them to persevere thoroughly higher to achieve their goals. Were I a teacher that were given the commitment of making up a new method, in order to propel students to carry out their homework properly, I would establish an online quiz for them every day and admire the five most successful students in quizzes with some special rewards.