In order to make freshmen adapt to college life, which one is more helpful?

-Attending a one-week orientation or introduction program when you are in the university campus, and it will begin before you have the classes;

-Meeting regularly in your first year with a student in your major field who has entered the university for several years.

How to make freshmen adapt to college is becoming more and more important nowadays. Some people believe attending a one-week orientation or introduction program is the best choice. I hold that meeting regularly in students’ first year with a student in his major field who has entered the university for several years is better.

Meeting with senior students who are in the same major is more efficient. It is efficient because meetings do not need a special schedule. Whenever both students are free, they can have a chat about school life. Efficiency is very crucial since both students do not have much time to waste in their university lives. On the contrary, choosing a one-week orientation means students need to sacrifice many activities to spare a week in the summer vacation. For example, when I entered law school, the school arranged a senior student who also majored in law. We could easily find out a time that was both acceptable to both of us. Launch break or dinner time was often used. These meetings did not interfere with my study or plans At the same time, I achieved much help with how to adapt to the first year in university.

Meeting with senior students who are in the same major is more practical. It is more practical because senior students have experienced the first year in university too and had more practical advises about professors and exams. A more practical choice is vital given that it is important to solve problems that freshmen may meet in university. By contrast, a one-week orientation from the teachers is hard for freshmen to get useful information and practical information. Chinese student is a case in point. In 2018, China Daily conducted a survey on why you think meeting with a senior student repeatedly in a good option to get familiar to university, targeting six thousand students from several first-tier universities nationwide. Over eighty percent of the respondents rated that they believe it is the most practical mean as one of the top three answers. They also listed the following reasons: senior students can tell freshmen how to deal with the final exam and how to understand the professor’s lecture better. They may also give their documents and records that they used in the first year to freshmen which are very helpful in learning.

Freshmen are glad to meet with senior students in the same field comparing to attending a one-week orientation. Freshmen take senior students as friends instead of mentors, so they do not have pressure when they communicate. Happiness is critical given that it is hard for freshmen to obtained in university because of high pressure from study. In contrast, a one-week orientation is more likely a class than a usual communication. Freshmen may feel stressed and cannot talk whatever they want to ask in the orientation. For example, my brother took a one -week orientation when he became a freshman in 2018. He treated the orientation as another strict class as he had taken in high schools. He was uncomfortable and afraid of teachers and do not dare to ask the questions that bothered him like how to get a better GPA in universities. These problems soon became reality in his life as a freshman which bothered him for a long time. After that, the school arraigned a senior student to help him. He had a good friendship with that student. He told all his troubles to that student and solved it by him.